(HealthDay News) -- People with celiac disease should avoid eating gluten, a protein found in most grains, especially wheat.
The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics makes these suggestions for avoiding gluten:
- Always read food labels. Look for gluten-free foods that are fortified with iron and folate.
- Opt for whole grains that are naturally gluten free, such as buckwheat, quinoa, teff, millet, corn, flax and amaranth.
- Carefully read restaurant menus and ask questions about ingredients.
Copyright © 2012 HealthDay. All rights reserved.